For When You Are Starting to Lose Hope {And You Need to Know God’s Got Your Gecko}

Listen. I know it.

I know this life gets crazy hard and there are days you just want to change your address to your bed. Not your house. Your bed. As in, “If you need me, you can reach me under my covers. But I would rather you not reach me – hence the hiding under my covers.”

But the comfort of our covers? It’s pretty flimsy, and it’s only temporary. And I believe God wants us to get out of bed each morning and face our lives remembering this – God’s got us.

He’s got us. He’s got our families. He’s got every circumstance we’re facing.

He’s got all of it.

And we can rest in His love.

My oldest daughter had a tough year last year. I won’t give you all of the details, because they aren’t mine to give. Instead, I will simply share two words that should sum the struggle up nicely for you:

Middle. School.

Sweet mercy. How those two words stir up painful memories in my own heart! And whereas walking through the torture of middle school was bad enough for myself, watching my daughter struggle through her year was infinitely worse.

But God.

(Oh, how I love those two words. )

But God had a plan for my daughter. He had a plan to blow her socks off with His love. A plan to let her know that He sees her and He loves her. A plan to give her a gecko.

A gecko? Yep. You read that right – a gecko.Praline

You see, in the midst of her hardest days, she had a bright spot. Her science teacher had purchased a gecko as a class pet. And my daughter came home almost daily talking about holding the gecko and feeding the gecko and letting the gecko crawl across her paper while she did her classwork.

She. Was. In. Love.

And, of course, she started hinting around and trying to figure out how she could get her own gecko, deciding finally that a gecko would make a great birthday gift.

My husband and I didn’t know what to do. A gecko plus all of it’s paraphernalia is a pretty pricey birthday present, and we weren’t sure if we could splurge quite that much on her gift. Of course, we also didn’t want to crush her heart. That gecko was helping to make her school year survivable, and we wanted to bless her with one of her own.

We prayed and talked and hemmed and hawed around the subject of the gecko until the day we got a phone call from her school. One of my dearest friends who works in the front office (who also ended up being a GIFT to my daughter) called to ask on behalf of the teachers if they could give my oldest the gecko. No strings attached. No payment. The gecko, the cage, the heat lamp, the food – EVERYTHING.

I could hardly speak. To say my heart was overwhelmed would be an understatement. There was only one catch – school would still be in for a few more weeks and they asked us not to tell her. They wanted the gecko to be a surprise.

So for WEEKS my husband and I walked around knowing. Knowing that good was coming. Knowing that God had an amazing blessing prepared for our daughter. Knowing that He was about to demonstrate His love for her in such a cool and on her level kind of way. I won’t lie – I was about to BUST to tell her.

And I am telling you all of this because I think we all need this reminder –

God’s got our geckos. 

He does.

(Okay, so let’s just stop and praise Him that He isn’t really giving all of us lizards. Have. Mercy.)

But I do believe He wants us to know that He sees us.

He sees us. He hears us. He loves us. He hasn’t forgotten us or forsaken us. He has good things planned for us. Things we can’t see yet, but that are on their way. He’s about to bust to bless us, to tell us about them, but He knows the perfect timing.

And He’s asking us to trust Him in the wait.

He led me to this passage this morning:

“But, on the contrary, as the Scripture says, What eye has not seen and ear has not heard and has not entered into the heart of man, [all that] God has prepared (made and keeps ready) for those who love Him [who hold Him in affectionate reverence, promptly obeying Him and gratefully recognizing the benefits He has bestowed].” 1 Corinthians 2:9 (AMP) 

You can read it in Isaiah 64:4 too.

God has goodness and provision and blessings prepared for us. Made and kept ready! I love that. And He is an above and beyond kind of God, doing and accomplishing infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope for. (Ephesians 3:20) And while there may be a wait at times, the things He asks us to wait for are always WORTH waiting for.

He didn’t just give my girl any old gecko. He gave her the gecko she had already fallen in love with. And He didn’t just give her the gecko. He gave her everything the gecko needed.

And I can’t help but think of Ruth. Ruth who lost her husband and chose to follow her mother-in-law and her mother-in-law’s God. God didn’t just bless Ruth with any old husband. He gave her a tender kinsman redeemer, and He tucked her name forever into the lineage of Christ. (God keeps showing me so much from her story – how I can really and truly trust Him in the midst of situations that don’t make sense.)

And then Jesus? Talk about above and beyond. God didn’t give the people the political ruler they were hoping for in Jesus. He didn’t give them an earthly king. No. He gave them, He gave us all, the Savior of our souls. He gave us an eternal, loving, powerful, willing to die for us, sitting at the right hand of God praying for us, more than we would have dared asked for King!

So in those places you are starting to lose hope? Hold on. Hold on to truth and hold on to God and hold on to hope.

God’s got your gecko.

He’s got mine, too.

And in the wait, we can do what the verse I shared encourages us to do – we can keep loving God and trusting His love for us. We can keep obeying Him in surrender and trust. And we can keep thanking Him – for who He is, for all that He has done, for all that He is doing, and for all that He will do.

Surrendered. Hopeful. Thankful.

I love you, dear friends. And I am praying for you today. I know this is all easier said than done – being hopeful in the face of all that seems hopeless. But God is good, and He is worthy of our trust and of our praise. Am I saying life is going to always turn out just peachy and we are always going to get everything we want? No. I’m not.

What I am saying is this – God is faithful and He is so much better to us than we even realize. And I want to learn to start resting in His love.

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good!
His faithful love endures forever.” Psalm 107:1 (NLT)

Blessings,

Kimberly

Leave a Reply

