Perfectly Positioned {For When You Aren’t Where You WANT to Be}

postcardIt was such a small moment.

They often are. The ones that speak the loudest to my heart.

I had stepped away from my desk at work, only to come back and find a postcard that needed to go out that day. I had already taken the mail out earlier in the morning, but I quickly added the necessary postage and grabbed my keys, needing the fob that would let me back into the office.

I hurried out, hoping the mail had not yet run, only to have a disappointed sigh escape my lips when I got outside and found the red flag no longer up. I would have to drive by the post office later. Not a huge deal, but still sigh inducing.

Feeling mildly frustrated about wasted time, I headed back into the building. But before I reached the doors that would lead me back to my desk and actual productivity, I noticed one of our pastors’ wives. Her hands were full, and she was trying unsuccessfully to get into a locked room with the wrong keys. I made a small detour to see if maybe I could help her. I don’t have keys to all of the doors in our church, but I hoped one of the two on my key ring would do the job. Sure enough, I had just the key she needed, and she was so grateful I had come along right when I did.

Heading back to the main office, I felt good that my trip away from my desk had not been a total waste. At least I had been in the right place at the right time for someone else. I had assumed my trip out of my cubicle and towards the mailbox had been all about me getting a postcard sent on its way. But that wasn’t the point at all.

I had been put in position to be a help to someone else. To open a door. To share my keys.

And in that brief moment of processing why I had really needed to walk that postcard out, the Lord delivered some truth to my heart. A little Holy Spirit postcard sent via a brief moment. One reading:

Dearest Kimberly,
Do not assume to know why I have positioned you where I have positioned you. 
Much Love,
God

Ummmmm…wow.

I don’t know about you, but I tend to get discouraged when things don’t go the way I think they should. If life seems to be taking an unexpected turn or my own plans appear to have flat-out failed, my heart begins to question. (And sigh. A lot.) “Lord, I feel like You had asked me to obey You here in this area. And I did. But…well…things aren’t going how I thought they would. Did I miss you? Did I mishear? Have I just wasted my time?”

He is having to teach me that when outcomes are different than what I have planned, it does not mean I am outside of what HE has planned. God’s ways are perfect. Purposeful. Powerful. And beyond my comprehension. And His plans? They aren’t all about ME.

I so needed that reminder, that Holy Spirit postcard from the Lord. I needed Him to tell me that when I am not getting the results I expect, when my days seem super routine, when I am not where I think I want to be or should be, I must not lose heart. My time is not being wasted.

I can trust God is positioning me – right where I need to be. And not just where I need to be for me, but where I need to be for others.

I can stop making assumptions and simply stay expectant – trusting Him to work in me, through me, and for me. Right where I am. And when it is time to move on? When I do need to be in a new place, in a new “position”? I can trust He knows how to put me in just the right place at just the right time for His just right plans.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.”
Proverbs 3:5,6

Thank You, Lord, that You are worthy of our praise and of our trust. We surrender to Your ways and to Your plans, and we say today that where YOU want us to be is where we really want to be. May we be a blessing, right where we are. And may our eyes be wide open to Your many blessings that are always all around us.

Learning to trust, 
Kimberly

*** photo credit ***

Leave a Reply

