Why You Can’t Keep Lions on Leashes {For When God Doesn’t Feel Very Safe}

lydia-harper-231626“Aslan is a lion – the Lion, the great Lion.” “Ooh” said Susan. “I’d thought he was a man. Is he – quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion”…”Safe?” said Mr Beaver …”Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.” ― C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

So, there are these days where you realize maybe you’ve been trying to walk the Lion on a leash.

This Jesus.

This King of Kings and Lord of Lords.

This Lion of Judah.

You realize you’ve been trying to tame Him, to control Him, to crack your whip and make Him do what you want Him to do.

But then you run hard up against the truth that He can’t be tamed. And He isn’t here to perform tricks for us. He isn’t here to jump through our hoops or to sit at our command. He isn’t here for us to use Him to show off. To show others just how great we are.

And then you end up feeling not quite sure what to do with Him … because while He is utterly safe, He’s also wholly and wildly unsafe. As in, He isn’t going to do what we want Him to do just to make our lives happy and easy. He is good, but He is also sovereign. His ways and His thoughts, they are so much higher than ours (Isaiah 55:8-9).

And I had a day like this yesterday. One where I was feeling heartbroken over things I can’t fix. Over things I can’t change. Over circumstances I can’t control. Over pain I just don’t understand in the life of a dear friend. And when I asked Him, “What do I do with You now?”… the only answer that immediately came was to let Him roam free. To let Him move freely throughout the whole of my life.

No trying to control Him.

No trying to manipulate Him.

No trying to use Him for my own glory.

Simply following His lead. Resting in His love. Trusting in His plans. Knowing He is good. And believing He can protect me so much better than I can protect myself.

I don’t know who else needs this. But maybe someone does. Maybe you need to repent like I have had to do. Maybe you need to humbly hand Him the leash, the flaming hoops you keep trying to get Him to jump through to prove Himself to you, or the impressive Lion-taming get-up you keep putting on to try to prove yourself.

Maybe you need to hand it all over and simply let His mighty and His loving ROAR go out across the whole of your life.

I don’t know exactly what this is going to look like other than a whole lot of surrender and a whole lot of trust. So thankful to know that, at the end of each and every day, He is good. He is mighty. And He really is worthy of our trust.

So Much Love,

Kimberly

***Photo credit:

lydia harper

2 thoughts on “Why You Can’t Keep Lions on Leashes {For When God Doesn’t Feel Very Safe}

Leave a Reply

