Three Things You DON’T Have to Do When It Comes to Your Calling

Image-1 (1)Sometimes life can feel like one great big, unending to-do list.

You have to do this.
You need to do that.
You must finish all of these things.

And on top of all of your daily stuff, you also have dreams tucked away in your heart.

Things you want to do.
Things you long to do.
Things you feel called to do but are fearful you may never get to do.

So I thought I would share a list with you. A list of the things you don’t have to do today. A list that is gently ushering peace and rest into my soul. And I’m hoping it will do the same for you. Because God doesn’t want us to be frantic today. Especially about the good things He plans to do in and through our lives.

Three Things You DON’T Have to Do When It Comes to Your Calling:

1 – You don’t have to apologize for it.

If God has called you to paint? Paint. If He has called you to write? Write. If He has called you to crunch numbers, teach, serve overseas, or nurse people back to health? You can simply do those things – all to the glory of God, no apologies necessary, no worrying that some other call is greater or nobler.

The enemy wants you to think you are “less than” because he knows your life matters. But God created you on purpose and with purpose. And who He created you to be is lovely and needed and good (Psalm 139:13-16).

So no more apologies for who He designed you to be, okay? (And if you need more help with celebrating who you are instead of apologizing for who you are, you can read THIS post.) 

2 – You don’t have to compete for it.

Your calling is your calling. “Her” calling is her calling. There’s no competition. Even if your callings are similar. You have a unique personality, a unique life story, and a unique set of people only you can reach.

God didn’t place something on your heart only to say, “Oh, wait… she does it better than you. So sorry. I’ve changed My mind.” No! He placed you where you are and made you who you are on purpose. And He will work through your life in His own timing, in His own ways, as you stay surrendered to Him – no competition needed.

3 – You don’t have to be anxious about it.

God tells us to be anxious for nothing (Philippians 4:6-7). NOTHING. That means not even our callings.

Because God knows what He’s doing.

He knows how to develop your calling, and He knows how to develop you. He knows what connections you need to make, what doors you need opened, what doors you need closed and what provision you will need along the way.

His every “yes,” “no,” and “not yet” are perfectly timed and can absolutely be trusted. He wants you in His will even more than you want to be in His will, and so your heart can be at rest as you trust Him day by day. Trusting Him with every single detail and feeling released from the need to manipulate any of those details.

***

I don’t know about you, but I love having a list of things I DON’T have to do. With all that I do have to do today, it gives my heart such peace to know I don’t have to apologize, compete or be anxious about the dreams God has placed in my heart. I can simply press in, follow Him and delight in His presence as He leads the way. And I can let all of the places where I feel frantic about my calling clue me in to the fact I may be trying to make things happen on my own.

May we let our hearts rest in His love, in His ways and in His plans today, friends. He is for us. And He has great purpose tucked inside of each and every one of us.

Much Love,
Kimberly

Leave a Reply

