Are We Divers or Swimmers? {For the Ones Who Long to See God}

Image-1 (12)It was about a year ago when God asked me a question I haven’t been able to shake.

Do you want to be a diver or a swimmer? 

Not totally sure what He meant, I sat down to journal for a little while. I quickly scratched out a few of their characteristics.

Swimmers are very “seen” – making a big splash and gliding across the surface of the water. But while they are seen, there may be a lot going on beneath surface that they never see. They miss out on a lot of discovery.

Divers, however, go “unseen” for long periods of time. Bystanders may not even realize they are under the surface of the water – going deeper and deeper, discovering the beauty and mystery awaiting there. They are unseen, yet seeing.

And I knew immediately what the Lord was asking me.

Kimberly, do you want to settle for skimming the surface of My Word, maybe even making a big splash and drawing a bit of attention to yourself with it… or do you want to see the DEEP things about Me? 

Of course, my answer was and still is that I want to be a diver.

I want to see Him.
I want to hear Him.
I want to know Him. 

Not just what I can grab in a quick few minutes here or there. I want the deep things of Him to settle into the deepest parts of me.

And not just so I can write a few Facebook posts or a good blog post or two. I want to see Him because I need Him. Because I love Him. Because He changes me and loves me like no other.

And I don’t want to cause any confusion or discouragement. I’m not talking about God requiring us to dive into His Word for hours upon hours every single day. That’s not what I’m saying at all. This post is about the position of our hearts, not performance. It’s about the attitude we carry with us all day long. An attitude that stirs us to seek Him.

So, what IS a diver? 

D – A diver is someone whose heart cry is “DEEPER.”

If scientists are continually discovering more about the natural world… if there are places in this world I have never seen with my own eyes… then how much more must there be to still see and discover about God? We have yet to plumb the depths of His wisdom and majesty and creativity. We have yet to see all of His wonders and His beauty. So I don’t want to settle for what I have seen and what I now know of Him when I know there is infinitely more.

{Lord, I know I have only seen the mere edges of Your ways and heard mere whispers of Your voice. Because I know there is more, I want more. I long to experience the deep things of You. Job 26:14, Psalm 42:7}

I – A diver is someone who says, “I am willing to be INVISIBLE to the world for a while so God can become more visible to me.”

A diver doesn’t dive to be impressive. A diver dives to discover. To see. To experience. And they block out the rest of the world, hiding themselves in deep waters, so they can see the things only visible to those willing to be invisible for a while.

{Lord, more than I want to be SEEN by man, I want to SEE You. Help me to set aside time each day. Not to just talk TO You, but to listen FOR You. And help me to seek You with a pure and hungry heart. Luke 5:16, Luke 6:12, Mark 1:35, Matthew 6:6 (MSG); Isaiah 50:4-5}

V – A diver’s appetite for the things of the Lord is VORACIOUS, insatiable, unquenchable.

Divers dive because they hunger to see more. It’s the same for all of us. What we hunger and thirst for, we go after. If I want a sandwich, I go fix myself a sandwich. If I’m thirsty, I go in the kitchen and get myself a drink. And if I truly want more of God, I don’t just sigh and wish I could have more of Him. I pursue Him. I seek Him. And the more I taste of Him? The more I want.

{Lord, You are the sweetest thing I have ever tasted. So I don’t want to settle for just one helping. I want more and more of You. Help me to continually taste and see that You are good. You are the only One who can satisfy my soul. Psalm 63:1-5, Psalm 42:1-2; Isaiah 55:1-3, Psalm 34:8, Matthew 5:6}

E – A diver’s eyes and ears are open and EXPECTANT.

Divers dive with purpose and on purpose, believing there is beauty to be seen and discoveries to be made. I want to walk through my days with purpose. And I want to live each day expectant. Eyes and ears open, believing God has things He wants to show me, things He wants to say to me, things He wants me to experience.

{Lord, I know that You still speak, and I believe You desire to speak to me. I am watching for You. I am listening for You. All. Day. Long. Help me to wake up each and every day with a heart of expectancy. John 10:27Matthew 11:15, Revelation 2:7aPsalm 119:18}

R – A diver’s heart is REVERENT and repentant.

Divers have a deep respect for the sea. They are in awe of it’s majesty and power. Am I living continually in awe of God? I love Psalm 25:14 in The Message translation: “God-friendship is for God-worshipers; They are the ones he confides in.” If we want to see Him, we must humbly honor Him. God responds to our worship – moving closer, inhabiting our praises, revealing more and more of Himself to us. He cannot resist a humble heart. Nor can He resist a repentant one. He draws near to us when we draw near to Him (James 4:8).

{Lord, I am in awe of You. And I remember who IS God (YOU) and who is not (me). May I never lose my sense of wonder before You. And may I quickly confess any sin in my heart and life. I long to live a life of unbroken intimacy with You. Psalm 96:9, Isaiah 43:11Deuteronomy 6:4-5; Acts 3:19, Revelation 3:19-20}

Oh, how I want to be a diver. Not a woman who stands on the shore and simply lets other people tell me how amazing God is. Not a woman who skims the surface of the things of God and walks away a bit refreshed but never deeply changed.

I want to be a diver. I want the cry of my heart to be DEEPER. I want to be willing to be INVISIBLE. I want my appetite to be VORACIOUS. I want to live EXPECTANT. And I want to remain humbly and sincerely REVERENT.

May seeking Him be our sweetest and greatest pursuit.

Because the seekers? They will be the seers. 

~ Kimberly

One thought on “Are We Divers or Swimmers? {For the Ones Who Long to See God}

  1. Kimberly! This is one of the most beautiful (and most convicting) posts I’ve read in a long time. Though an experienced diver in the past, I admit I have spent the majority of my time this summer only swimming. Skimming the surface, refreshed, but avoiding the deep end altogether. Thank you for the eloquent way you expressed His Truth and His invitation for more. This is one of my favorites from you!

Leave a Reply

